Skip navigation

I was impressed by the Comment Code of Conduct at God’s Politics: a blog by Jim Wallis & Friends, and especially struck by the fact that they quoted and linked to a scripture reference to reinforce or underscore each point of the code.

Brilliant!

Even though it is a little scary that one would have to quote scripture in order to get Christians to adopt postures towards eash other that Christ would recognize as inspired by him, but, hey… we’re all in process!

Here’s the code:

Comment Code of Conduct
I will express myself with civility, courtesy, and respect for every member of the Sojourners online community, especially toward those with whom I disagree—even if I feel disrespected by them. (Romans 12:17-21)

I will express my disagreements with other community members’ ideas without insulting, mocking, or slandering them personally. (Matthew 5:22)

I will not exaggerate others’ beliefs nor make unfounded prejudicial assumptions based on labels, categories, or stereotypes. I will always extend the benefit of the doubt. (Ephesians 4:29)

I will participate in community accountability by rating posts up or down based not on what ideas are expressed but on how they’re expressed, and will flag posts that violate these rules of conduct. (Proverbs 12:18)

Leave a Reply

